Crocheted Wreath and…

12 Dec
Happy December!
 
Well, here we are…the final month of 2012.  And I actually kept this goal for this year.  I also am keeping up with reading the Bible through in a year…well, I get behind a bit, but then catch up…so I would think I am keeping up with that goal as well.  I think the only goal I actually failed with this year is doing a RAOK (Random Act of Kindness).  I first thought it would be really good to do one of those a week, but soon realized I was not going to be able to keep that goal at all.  Then I thought that maybe one a month would be more realistic and doable, but sadly, I didn’t keep up with it.  Maybe I can actually do that next year…one a month.  I am glad that I was able to post one of my original patterns each month this year though, and I truly hope you have enjoyed each and every one of them.🙂
 
Before moving on to the pattern I have for you, I would like to share about a sad thing that happened at the beginning of this month.  On Sunday, December 2, we had to take our kitty of almost 17 years to the vet, and sadly say good-bye to our furry family member.  That was so hard, and we are still missing our kitty Q so much.  We are thankful and glad we had him be part of our family for as long as we had him though.
 
I hope you all are enjoying this blessed time of year.  Happy Hanukkah to those who are celebrating that this week, and Merry Christmas to those who are celebrating that.  Hope everyone is almost done shopping, and decorating, and will be able to just enjoy this time of year.  And even though we all know that this is not really when Jesus was born, but just a time we have chosen to celebrate His birth, that we all will take time to do just that.  We usually have a birthday cake, or cupcakes for Jesus on Christmas Eve and sing Happy Birthday to Him.  And of course, our family reads from Luke 2 on Christmas morning.🙂
 
For those who might be wondering, we are back up and running with our radio station.  It is completely safe for all family members.  Currently we have Christmas/holiday music going 24/7 with our auto DJ.  We do have scheduled live shows a few times a week, and today we will be doing a special impromptu show.  Since it is 12/12/12 we thought it would be fun to do a show beginning at NOON Eastern, and play tracks 12 from different Christmas/holiday CD’s that we have.  We will be on until 2 PM Eastern, and would love for you to join us if you can.  To listen go to:
 
Do you have any goals for the upcoming year?  I don’t really like to call them resolutions, but goals.  I also, like to keep them as realistic as possible.  At this point I think the only one I have is to try and do a RAOK once a month, but I’ll have to think if there are any others, I’d like to add to that.🙂
 
Please let me know if you’ve enjoyed these free patterns, and how you are doing, and all of that.  I’d love to hear what you celebrate, and how, and would like any feedback at all really.
 
Here is this month’s pattern for you.  It is a small one, and you can work up quite a few of them before Christmas.
 
Crocheted Wreath
©November 13, 2010
 
Materials Needed:
small amount of WW 4 ply yarn in green
Hook Size:  G
Optional:  Any items you’d like to decorate it with.
 
Pattern Instructions:
CH 12, join with SL ST to first CH, being careful not to twist the chain.
 
CH 1, SC in same ST, and 1 SC in each CH around, join with SL ST to first SC. (12 SC)
 
Working in front loops only, SC in first ST, CH 3 and SC in same ST, *Sc, CH 3, SC in next ST, REP Around. (24 SC and 12 CH 3 SP)
 
Working in Back Loops Only SL ST in first ST, CH 4 (counts as first TRC), 2 TRC in same ST, *3 TRC in each ST around, join with SL ST to top of BEG CH 4. (36 TRC), Fasten off, and weave in ends.
 
Decorate as you wish.
 
You can attach a magnet, hanger, or pin depending on what you’d like to make it into.
 
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
 
Stay creative and be blessed!

Leave a Reply

