A Pumpkin Patch of Crochet Patterns

12 Oct

Happy October everyone!

 

Well, my favorite season/time of year is finally here, and it seems to be flying by pretty quickly.  I love having all 4 seasons here in New England, but from autumn through Christmas is most definitely my favorite time.

 

Before I move on to the patterns I have for you today…and yes I said patterns…I have 2 for you this month. :)  I’d like to say that 22 years ago today our son was born…so a very happy birthday to him!

 

Also, today is the second annual “I Love Yarn Day”…so all us yarn lover’s…there is a day just for us.  And I think we should most definitely celebrate! ;D  Now how to do that exactly…maybe buy some more yarn? Hahahaha  Or maybe we can share some of our yarn stash with a fellow yarn lover….or maybe just curl up with our yarn and hooks and/or needles and just work our little hearts out on a project that needs some attention???  In any case…the possibilities are surely out there  so enjoy this “I Love Yarn Day”. ;D

 

Okay, back to the patterns I have for you this month.  Whether you like Halloween or not, you can’t deny that pumpkins are just too cute not to have around.  I created a few pumpkin patterns a couple of years ago, and I thought I’d share 2 of them with you.  I decided to do 2, because I know some of you like smaller, quicker projects to do…so you’ll find one of those after the first pattern I have for you.

 

Pumpkin Trivet

©October 21, 2010

 

Stitch Guide:

CH = Chain

BLO = Back Loops Only

DC = Double Crochet

HDC = Half Double Crochet

SC = Single Crochet

SC DEC = Single Crochet Decrease

SL ST = Slip Stitch

ST = Stitch

 

Materials Needed:

4 ply WW cotton yarn in Orange.

4 ply WW yarn and Brown.

Hook Size:  H

 

Pattern Directions:

Pumpkin (Make 2):

BEG CH and ROW 1:  With orange CH 22, SC in 2nd CH from hook, SC in next CH, HDC in next 4 CH, DC in next 9 CH, HDC in next 4 CH, SC in last 2 CH, CH 1, Turn.

 

ROW 2:  Working in BLO, SC in first 2 STs, HDC in next 4 STs, DC in next 9 STs, HDC in next 4 STs, SC in last 2 STs, CH 1, Turn.

 

ROWS 3-15:  Rep ROW 2.

 

Border:

Working in both loops, SL ST in first 2 STs, SC in next 4 STs, HDC in next 9 STs, SC in next 4 STs, SL ST in next 2 ST, work 14 SL ST  evenly across the end of the rows, SL ST in next 2 Sts, SC in next 4 Sts, HDC in next 9 STs, SC in next 4 STs, SL ST in next 2 STs, work 14 SL ST evenly across the end of the rows, join with SL ST to first ST, Fasten off, weave in ends.

 

Holding wrong sides together, SL ST around both pieces, Fasten off.

 

Stem:

With Brown join yarn with a SL ST to end of fourth row from right, CH 1, SC in same ST as SL ST, do 6 more SC evenly across the ends of the rows, CH 1, Turn. 

 

SC DEC over first 2 ST, SC in next 3 STs, SC DEC, over last 2 ST, CH 1, Turn.

 

SC DEC over first 2 Sts, SC in next ST, SC DEC over last 2 STs, CH 1, Turn.

 

SC DEC over first 2 ST, SC in next ST, CH 1, Turn.

 

1 SC in each of the 2 ST, Fasten off, weave in ends.

 

Now for those of you who like the smaller, quicker projects this one is for you…they work up pretty fast and you can make quite a few in one sitting or crafting time.

 

Crocheted Pumpkin Magnet

©October 7, 2010

Corrected on October 20, 2010

 

Stitch Guide:

CH = Chain

BLO = Back Loops Only

HDC = Half Double Crochet

SC = Single Crochet

SC DEC = Single Crochet Decrease

SL ST = Slip Stitch

ST = Stitch

 

Materials Needed:

4 ply WW yarn in Orange.

4 ply WW yarn and Brown.

Hook Size:  C

Magnet

 

Pattern Directions:

Pumpkin:

BEG CH and ROW 1:  With orange CH 10, SC in 2nd CH from hook, HDC in next 2 CH, DC in next 3 CH, HDC in next 2 CH, SC in last CH, CH 1, Turn.

 

ROW 2:  Working in BLO, SC in first ST, HDC in next 2 STs, DC in next 3 STs, HDC in next 2 STs, SC in last ST, CH 1, Turn.

 

ROWS 3-5:  Rep ROW 2.

 

Border:

Working in both loops, SL ST in first ST, SC in next 2 STs, HDC in next 3 STs, SC in next 2 STs, SL ST in next ST, work 5 SL ST  evenly across the end of the rows, SL ST in next St, SC in next 2 Sts, HDC in next 3 STs, SC in next 2 STs, SL ST in next ST, work 5 SL ST evenly across the end of the rows, join with SL ST to first ST, Fasten off, weave in ends.

 

Stem:

With Brown join yarn with a SL ST to end of third row from right, CH 1, SC in same ST as SL ST, do 2 more SC evenly across the ends of the rows, CH 1, Turn. 

 

SC DEC over first 2 ST, SC in next ST, CH 1, Turn.

 

1 SC in each of the 2 ST, Fasten off, weave in ends.

 
Attach magnet.
 

I hope you enjoy these patterns!

 

I also hope you’ll leave a comment for me, as I truly can no longer see my stats to see if anyone is reading my blog posts anymore, and I would love to hear from you.  I will do my best to answer any comments that need answering.  Thank you so much!🙂

 

Be blessed and stay creative!

One Response to “A Pumpkin Patch of Crochet Patterns”

  1. Diane October 12, 2012 at 12:38 PM #

    Thanks for these! I still have to make time to make last month’s pattern!! I’m being hindered by not wanting to go get the yarn container out of the shed . It’s scary in there!! LOL Eventually, I’ll get the yarn and try these!!

Leave a Reply

