Wordless Book Crochet Pattern

12 Jan
Hi Everyone,
 
As promised I am starting to post some of my original patterns for you.  This is the first one I feel lead to post.  I figured since it’s 2012, that the 12th seemed like a good day to post an original pattern.  I will try my best to make it the 12th each month.
 
A few years back I began looking on the web for a crochet pattern for THE WORDLESS BOOK.  I thought that would be a fun thing to make.  When I couldn’t find one, I decided to try my hand at creating a pattern for one.  Below you will find my original design.
 
Around the time that I created this pattern, a friend had a website that had free patterns on it, and she let me post some of mine on there as well.  I will never forget receiving an email from a lady who thanked me for the pattern.  She said she was going on a mission trip, and these would be great to crochet and take with her to give to the children.  I was glad that I was able to share a pattern freely that would help out with a missions trip, and that she took the time to write to let me know.
 
Wordless Book Crochet Pattern
©March 8, 2004
MATERIALS
WW yarn in…
green
Royal blue or Purple
black
red
white
yellow or gold
Hook size G
Yarn Needle
INSTRUCTIONS
Make 1 of these in every color, except for green
CH 15
ROW 1:  SC in 2nd from hook, and each CH across (14 SC).
ROW 2:  CH 1, turn, SC in each SC across (14 SC), CH 1, turn.
ROWS 3-14:  REP ROW 2, fastening OFF at the end of ROW 14.
With Green
CH 34
ROW 1:  SC in 2nd from hook, and each CH across (33 SC).
Row 2:  CH 1, turn, SC in each SC across, fastening off at the end of ROW 14.
FINISHING
Wrap the green around the others, placing them in this order inside the green cover…
Royal Blue or Purple
Black
Red
White
Yellow or Gold
With green yarn, and a yarn needle, sew through all layers, creating a binding edge look.  Fasten off, and weave in ends.
Meaning of the colors…
Royal Blue or Purple represents our Lord and all His righteousness.
Black represents sin.
Red represents Jesus’ blood.
White represents how we are washed white as snow, by Jesus’ blood.
Yellow or gold represents the streets of Heaven, and how we all will be there some day, if we believe in Jesus.
Green represents how we need to grow in the Lord
 

If you crochet this, I’d love for you to share how you liked it, and how you used it.

 
Be blessed and stay creative!

Leave a Reply

