Cloudy with a Chance of Apple Picking

30 Sep

As I mentioned in a previous post, we’ve gone apple picking at least once a year since 1997…most of those years with some dear and close friends of ours.  So on Monday, I called to see if they’d be able to go some time this week, and we settled on Thursday.  Of course, after I got off the phone with my friend, we heard that there was a chance of rain on Thursday….UGH…right?  So, we prayed that there would be this window of opportunity during the time we’d be going to just not rain and that we’d just be able to go.

 

Well, Thursday morning rolls around and my friend calls after looking out the window, to double check whether we should go or not.  We both decide to give it a try, and it wound up being a fun day.  Did it rain?  You’re wondering?  We safely got through apple picking and lunch without being rained on, but while we let the kiddos play on the playground, and see the animals and feed the goats, the sky did open up and sent some rain our way…thankfully not too badly though.  I mean we just stayed there and chatted, played, etc, while a nice steady rain fell down on us.  It seemed like nothing comparitively, since we did actually go apple picking in a downpour one year. LOL  All in all it was a great time with great friends, and we were glad to be able to go with them this year.

 

Other goings on here…

 

I finished the 2 smaller projects I had on my hooks in needles.  For those who might be reading for the first time…a washcloth and a scarf.  So I was pretty happy about that, since I mentioned before how I had 3 projects going, and it’s been a long time since I had several projects in the works.  Still working on the project for my friend who is having a baby though, and I started another washcloth, and trying to think of a third smaller project to get going on since I am pretty sure I can handle it now.😉

 

We’ve already made an apple crisp with some of the apples picked, and I’m sure more baked goods will be made, since we got a bushal of apples. :)  Having said that, the farm we go to only goes up to 1/2 a bushal, but we got 2 of those, since they have rules about 1/2 a bushal allowing 5 people into the orchard.  We had a group of 14 with our family, and our friends family, so we got 2, and they got 1.  Would be nice if they had a price/deal on a whole bushal, but they probably figure that there is not enough demand for that size.

 

The apple crisp recipe that we use is from a friend I’ve known since childhood, and is my favorite.  I’ll share it here for anyone interested…I’m sure she won’t mind.🙂

 

Apple Crisp

Ingredients:
4 cups apples, sliced
1 Tablespoon lemon juice
1/3 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup oatmeal
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 cup melted margarine or butter

Put apples in shallow 8-inch pan. Sprinkle with lemon juice. Combine all dry ingredients with butter and mix until crumbly. Sprinkle all this over apples and bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. Serves: 8

If you try the recipe, I’d love to hear how you liked it…hope you enjoy it!🙂

 

Hope you are having a blessed and creative day!

Leave a Reply

